Introduction to THE SURGICAL FICTION PODCAST

Introduction to THE SURGICAL FICTION PODCAST

Do you love listening to audiobooks? If so, read on, because I love making them and this podcast is a chance for you listen to great mainstream audiobooks. For FREE.

A digression. I have been a brain surgeon for over twenty years. The surgical task and the writing craft are both goal directed, cerebral undertakings. But surgery is a concrete, “right now” kind of thing, and writing is a creative, “take your time” thing. Surgery requires a rote knowledge of anatomy; writing calls up an esoteric awareness of words and grammar. Surgery is relatively quick and mentally exhausting; writing is time consuming and brain building. Surgery is a team sport (no surgeon operates alone); writing may be one of the most solitary things we humans do. And, for me at least, it is also one of the most rewarding. For many years, I have spent my spare time writing fiction.

And listening to audiobooks.

THE SURGICAL FICTION PODCAST is inspired by my life as a brain surgeon—and the hours spent in between, during which I wanted nothing more than to find a good story (a great story) to occupy my time. These are just good stories well told. The podcast features audiobooks I have recorded for Audible.com, presented in chapter fashion. The complete book is here for your listening pleasure, but if you’d like to have it uninterrupted I encourage you to hop over to Audible, or where ever you get your audiobooks from, and buy the complete and uninterrupted audiobook. The author, the publisher, and most of all, me, will appreciate it.

Subscribe to

The Surgical Fiction Podcast

Or subscribe with your favorite app by using the address below

Here’s a few examples, in no particular order, of what I hope to have coming up on the podcast. We’ll just have to wait and see. And remember, these will be available complete and unabridged for your listening pleasure, in episodic format. Listen on for excerpts from each. Enjoy, as this is food for the soul. And it’s all coming up right here at THE SURGICAL FICTION PODCAST.

STALINGRAD by Theodore Plievier. THE classic work of WWII battle on the eastern front. You don’t want to miss this.

A shattering account of the destruction of the entire German Sixth Army in THE decisive battle of the european war. One of the most brutal and intense depictions of war ever written.

SILICON BLOOD by HUGO nominated author Dr. Arlan Andrews, Sr., and Hydra Publications.

In the near future, the drug cartels of South America establish their own criminal nation, Cordillera, and proceed to flood the world with cocaine and political corruption.

America responds by using the new science of nanotechnology to produce microscopic machines – “nanobots” – to eradicate such drugs once and for all. But these tiny devices can also be used to create new kinds of drugs inside a human body – a “pharm” — or to devour it from within.

After a catastrophic nano-plague, a new and powerful drug lord, El Hombre – “The Guy” – uses nanobots to set up a worldwide drug ring, harvesting new drugs from human bodies and enforcing obedience with threats of devourment.

Gerald Geddes, a nano-engineer with a horrific secret, fights back.

The struggle between Geddes and The Guy takes place in both the human domain and in the invisible world of their own nano-creations.

The outcome of their battle will determine the future of the human race.

PART TIMERS by Carter Bowman and Ghost Pepper Press.

Joel is dead.

After waking up to a world where the living can no longer see his face or feel his touch, Joel is thrown into the paradigm of part-timers — souls forced to repay the debt of their misspent lives by helping the more fortunate deceased to move on. Trapped by the morally esoteric Angels, Joel is quickly discovering that there are many worse things than death, and he will have to put more on the line than his flesh and blood to find the answers he needs.

HATTERAS BLUE by USA Today best selling author David Poyer and Northampton House Press.

USA Today -bestselling author David Poyer writes gripping undersea thrillers in the tradition of Clive Cussler and John D. MacDonald. On a moonless night in March, 1945, a Coast Guard destroyer sank a German U-Boat fifty miles off Hatteras Island, the Graveyard of the Atlantic. Now, a half-century later, the mummified corpses of three of its crewmen, wrapped in a decaying rubber raft, come to light during the excavation for a new shopping development. Their reappearance unleashes a tide of powerful forces . . . neo-Nazis with a ruthless plan to corner the South American drug market, an Isreali intelligence operative, and a shadowy, wealthy “historian” with his own, even more dangerous plan.

When Hatteras native, salvage diver, and ex-con Lyle “Tiller” Galloway III starts digging into the discovery, he’s forced by an island family cheated of their beachfront land to take on a dangerous silent partner. Together, he and Shadrach Aydlett will track down what actually happened in the Carolina sand hills so long before, and what everyone’s really after . . . tons of long-lost Nazi gold. And finally, face down a ruthless killer in a gut-wrenching battle that climaxes hundreds of feet beneath the surface.

And others. Stay tuned.

Comments are closed.